gSyncit

I was never a die hard Microsoft kind of guy. I was just practical and openly admitted that 100% of my computing needs could be met on the Microsoft OS platforms in a cost effective manner. I used Apples. I used Tandy computers. I loved tinkering, and began building my own PC’s. I had OS/2 Warp loaded when it came out, but lack of applications forced me back to Windows. As Linux matured, I tried several different versions and builds. But I always circled back to Microsoft Windows. Then in the late 90’s I got a job working for a network integrator, and was forced to become very Microsoft centric since that’s what the majority of our customers bought and used. And thus began my love / hate relationship with Outlook.

Fast forward to the present. I work for a different employer now, but my work environment is still very Microsoft centric. At home, I have a Comcast Business Class account and use the Microsoft Exchange licenses they bundle in for the family’s email needs. Ubuntu does everything natively that I want except iTunes, and I have an Ubuntu based PC in the house that did duty as my main PC for a while. I have a Motorola Droid and like the Android operating system. And because of these alternative platforms, I had moved most of my computing into the cloud, and leveraged my Exchange account, Dropbox and Google to the max. As a result, my daily personal computing  has become fairly platform independent and lives in the cloud as much as possible, and I can access everything off my smartphone, or any computer with an internet connection. Life is good.

Sort of.

I subscribe to the “Getting Things Done” methodology, and with Google Tasks interface being so lacking, it was very challenging to set up my tasks. Finding Gtasks was a wonderful wonderful thing, and really improved the whole Google Tasks experience – on the Motorola Droid.  But it still wasn’t as rich a user experience as Outlook’s interface. Gtasks doesn’t handle custom recurring events very well yet, and I was missing the ability to drag and drop emails to create tasks and calendar appointments.

I also LOVE Microsoft OneNote. This, in my opinion, is a killer application, and I’ll post one day soon how I leverage OneNote. It’s also my opinion that if Microsoft ever decided to make an Android client for it, they could gain a serious foothold for applications on that platform! I tried using Evernote and copying what I captured on the Motorola Droid to OneNote when I got back to a Windows PC, and I just didn’t like it. I tried using Springpad, and am still using it. It works well on the Droid, and in the cloud, and is a good substitute for OneNote. But I still would love a OneNote client for Android.

So I started Googling, looking for a still better way to handle my needs for a better task interface, and hopefully a decent OneNote client. While the search for a decent OneNote client continues, I did find gSyncit, and love it!

gSyncit allows me to sync Outlook contacts, calendar, tasks, and notes to my Google account!!

How great is this program! I can now leverage Outlook when I am back on the PC, and I can still leverage Gtasks on the Droid, and Google’s web interface on any other computer I may end up using. Life just got that much better!

Leave a Reply

