Weird HP DVD Drive and MagicJack Issue

I was perplexed. Suddenly, my DVD ROM stopped working in that it no longer showed up in “My Computer” and in Device manager I had an exclamation point next to it along with the message “Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing.”

I said to myself, “that’s bizarre”.

Even weirder, my Magic Jack dongle stopped working (it would no longer load the MagicJack software), and in Device Manager right under the DVD drive, I had a TigerJet device also with an exclamation mark and a message about a failed driver.

Uninstalling and re-installing the driver did nothing to resolve the issue, for the DVD ROM. The Magic Jack worked on a different PC just fine. So it had to be something on this PC. Conflicting software? I didn’t really think so as I hadn’t installed or uninstalled any software in almost two months.

Perhaps it was a registry issue of some sort? BINGO!! Digging into this issue, I stumbled upon Microsoft Knowledge Base article 314060:

“Your CD drive or DVD drive is missing or is not recognized by Windows or other programs”

I followed the directions in the Knowledge Base article, and both devices are again functioning without issue!

Leave a Reply

