Google Field Trip

I recently discovered Google’s Field Trip application, and after playing with it for 2 weeks, I can honestly say so far I like it!

Per Google:

“Field Trip is your guide to the cool, hidden, and unique things in the world around you. Field Trip runs in the background on your phone. When you get close to something interesting, it pops up a card with details about the location. No click is required. If you have a headset or bluetooth connected, it can even read the info to you.

Field Trip can help you learn about everything from local history to the latest and best places to shop, eat, and have fun. You select the local feeds you like and the information pops up on your phone automatically, as you walk next to those places.”

I installed the application on my phone, and on a trip through Kingston, TN, Field Trip alerted me to the historic court house. It also alerted me to the historical marker commemorating the fact that Kingston, TN was once the state capital for a day. But then, to my pleasant surprise it also alerted me to a commemorative plaque dedicated to the memory of the soldiers and sailors of the war of 1812.

I can’t wait to see what other nuggets of history Field Trip will alert me to, in my travels! Field Trip – get it here!

Leave a Reply

