Evernote to the Rescue

Wow!! It’s hard to believe it’s been over two months since I’ve last posted on my blog! Time has really flown by!

 

As you may have read in my last post, I moved my office around and did a major purge of “stuff”. And the more I purged, the more I have found to purge. And continue to do so!  It baffled my mind why I found a Ziplock bag with 20 telephone patch cords in it. Or why I was saving 25 computer power cords. And why I still had 2 LPT cables when I don’t even own a computer with an LPT port anymore! And the same with the 3 PS/2 keyboards and mice when none of my computers have anything but USB ports? But what was even more amazing is simply the amount of PAPER that I am finding is not absolutely necessary to save.

Of course, business and tax related documents are stored in a filing cabinet, as well as digitized and stored on 2 different hard drives. But it’s all of the other paper that I want to save, but not store, that is almost overwhelming. The utility bills, the copies of warranty paperwork, credit card statements, and so on. I used to scan that type of document in, and save as .PDF’s, but it was becoming quite cumbersome to rename each file from “SCANxxxx.PDF” to “Something  Identifiable.PDF” That’s when I decided to move my archive activities into Evernote, and upgrade to a Premium account.

I already had the automatic import folder set up in Evernote, so I created a local notebook and called it “2013 Archive”. I then took the last two months of paper, scanned it all in, and by simply using tags, I was able to file all 64 documents in under 30 minutes! A huge time improvement for me! And searching by tags within Evernote for the .PDF, instead of scanning through a list of similarly named files, is so much quicker!.

A huge productivity improvement on all fronts!

 

Leave a Reply

