Task Management and Evernote

One of the things I really like about Microsoft OneNote is the tight integration with Outlook, and the ability to create a task in OneNote, and have it show in my task list in Outlook automatically. This works wonderfully well for me at work.  However, I use Evernote for my personal use, and I unfortunately understand Evernote is likely to never reach that level of integration with Outlook.  As I leverage Outlook and Evernote extensively throughout my day, I find I am capturing more and more tasks, that I then have to transfer to Outlook (Outlook being my trusted system for managing my various task lists, both at work and at home).  It’s not a great process, given I am constantly looking for ways to streamline my workflow.  I toyed with the idea of migrating back to OneNote for my personal use as well, but I have grown dependent on the ability to apply multiple tags to items, and search on tags when looking for archived items.  So I decided that ultimately, that wasn’t an option for me at this time.

So what to do?

I turned back to gSyncit for a solution to automate some of my tasks.  I created a note book in Evernote, called “Tasks”.  I then set up a sync in gSyncit to copy any note from “Tasks” to Outlook, and put a copy in my default task list in Outlook, where I can then manage them.

gsyncit1

 

gsyncit2

For example, I type a note, full of takeaways from a conference call, that I want to discuss with Bob.  I move that note to “Tasks” notebook, which when gSyncit fires off, creates a task based on the note title, with a link back to the note in the task body.  Then, when I address the item(s) on the note with Bob, I can move my note to the archive notebook, and mark the task as complete in Outlook.

It’s not a perfect process, as I still can’t create multiple tasks per note, but it’s a good start.

Leave a Reply

